Home > CatholicFavors Blog

There Are Twenty? Were There Not Fifteen Mysteries of the Rosary?

February 15th, 2012 - Comments Off

In the Catholic faith, you may have heard of the word mystery used from time to time. Mystery refers to your important beliefs about God, Jesus H. Christ, and His Holy Mother, Mary, all of whom are an integral part of the Catholic religion but can not be substantiated outside of this belief. In another viewpoint, the three are important expressions of the faith of the people. The 15 mysteries of the rosary are divided up into three groups of five and symbolize events of joy, events of sorrow, and events of glory in the life of Jesus H. Christ and Mary.

Remember that the rosary is a spiritual practice and requires the use of prayer and meditation. The recitation of the prayers soothes the mind and prepares it for contemplation on the events in the life of Jesus. The beads calm nervous fingers and give them something to play with. The following is a list of events upon which devout Catholics meditate or contemplate while reciting the rosary. They are the common stories of the Catholic religion:

The Mysteries of Joy

  1. The Annunciation
  2. The Visitation
  3. The Nativity
  4. The Presentation
  5. The Finding of the Baby Jesus within the Temple

The Mysteries of Sorrow

  1. The Agony in the Garden
  2. The Scourging at the Pillar
  3. The Crowning of Thorns
  4. The Carrying of the Cross
  5. The Crucifixion

The Mysteries of Glory

  1. The Resurrection
  2. The Ascension
  3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit
  4. The Assumption of Mary
  5. The Coronation of the Blessed Virgin Mary

Just like there once used to be 15 commandments, and when Moses dropped a tablet, he changed it to 10, the late Pope John Paul II also made some changes to the Catholic religion. In this case, the great “PJP squared”, as I like to call him, added a fourth set of mysteries for our enjoyment and contemplation. The new mysteries center on the events of Jesus’ life and include the following:

The Mysteries of Luminosity

  1. Jesus’ baptism in the Jordan river
  2. Jesus’ self-manifestation at the wedding of Cana
  3. Jesus’ proclamation of the Kingdom of God, with His call for everybody to convert to His religion
  4. Jesus’ transfiguration
  5. Jesus’ institution of the Eucharist (the little round Tostitos chip) as the sacramental expression of the paschal mystery

This is the first change in over hundreds of years that “PJP squared” called for the “contemplation of the face of Jesus” through the eyes of Mary. To commemorate this change, Pope John Paul II proclaimed the time period between October 2002 to October 2003 as the Year of the Rosary.

Marissa Meme is an article marketer for CatholicFavors.com where you can buy the finest in Catholic related items such as Key of Heaven rosaries, First Holy Communion gifts for boys and girls First Communion crosses, and Confirmation crosses.

Comments are closed.